Posted in REVIEW

BOOK REVIEW: Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family


I

like to cook and love new ideas,  so I was thrilled to review, Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family, by Susie Martinez, Vanda Howell and Bonnie Garcia.  Having some quick meals to make especially now in the midst of bridal showers and a wedding less than a month off, I figured this would be great to use!

Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family is a very simple type cookbook.  The layout is easy to follow and with many of the recipes gives the option to triple it so you can freeze some meals.  Throughout the book are also some “tips”, such as for breading chicken and keeping clean hands and avoiding contamination, use disposable gloves.  The recipes are quite simple, which is nice, and for the most part, the ingredients are going to be common ones that are in most pantries (except for meats and perishables).

When I try recipes, rarely do I stick to it completely . . . especially if I do not have the exact ingredients.  So this recipe below gave me a great start for a quick meal to put together in my crockpot.  In the [brackets] I put what I did differently.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops
(4-6 servings)
page 127

1 onion, sliced
4-6 bone-in pork chops [I used a pork roast – it was cheaper!]
1/2 cup apple juice [I used a peach/mango juice]
1 – 10 oz. can cream of mushroom soup
1 clove garlic, minced [I used about 4 – we like garlic!]
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp thyme
1 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced

Directions: Place sliced onion in bottom of crockpot.  Layer pork chops on top of onion.  Mix together all ingredients except mushrooms and pour over pork chops.  Cook on high for 4 hours  [with roast, I cooked for about 6 hours.] Place fresh mushrooms on top of pork chops during last hour of cooking time.  Delicious served over rice or with noodles. [we served on mashed potatoes!]

My family loved it.  I know it was a change with the above recipe, but it gave a great idea and definitely something I will make again.

That said, if I would have seen Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family in a bookstore and leafed through it, I would not have bought it.  It does not have one picture in it and overall is quite boring to look at!  The book has sections for appetizers, breakfasts, pastas, crockpot, easy baked oven dishes, desserts and more. At the beginning of each chapter there is a page listed of the recipes that are in that chapter but no page number.  You can find the page numbers in the very back in the recipe index.  Most of the recipes to requite “prepared foods” such as cream of mushroom soup.  This is not  from scratch type recipes.

Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family would make a nice gift for someone who may need the basic ideas for some nice home cooked meals and does not need the visual pictures for encouragement!  I give it a 3 out of 5.

Don’t Panic–Quick, Easy, and Delicious Meals for Your Family is now available at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group , who provided this book for me to read and review.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

