Posted in PLINKY

Early Memories

Describe your earliest memories.


I

was adopted when I was six months old. I was an only child for five years when my parents were surprised to learn my mom was pregnant, at age 42.  I don’t remember before my sister was born.  I often wish I could . . . what it was like as an only child?  How much they did just with me?  How they had to learn to be parents overnight?    I remember a black and white picture my parents had up for many years with me between my parents and I am holding on to my dad’s tie.  I wish I could remember that time.  I remember little stories they told.  I just don’t remember the time.  I hope my children remember when they were three and four years old.  Remember how much they were loved . . . remember birthday parties and milestones we celebrated.

My earliest memory was sleeping at the neighbor’s house while my mom was having the baby.  I remember laying down, with gum in my mouth and the neighbor lady put a dish on the nightstand so I could save it.  And then, I remember my dad coming to wake me up and tell me about my sister.   I don’t remember my sister as a little baby, but do remember the bottles they sterilized for her each day.

Sometimes I ache for things I cannot remember – and ache with the things I do remember, wishing I could forget.  Yet, I know God knows . . . and puts the pieces together and makes good out of bad.

“One thing I do:
Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,
I press on toward the goal to win the prize
for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”
(Philippians 3:13-14)

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

