Posted in Family, Information Article

Advantages & Disadvantages for this Generation

Name three advantages that kids born these days
have over older generations.

What disadvantages do they face?

I

often think if my grandpa who I grew up with living in my home, could come back and see the changes just from the early 1980’s, he’d be blown away.  Cell phones – they are an advantage AND disadvantage.  In college when I’d want to call home, it was long distance and could easily add up quite a phone charge.  Now with cell phones, it’s not like there is even the worry of long distance calling.  But, the disadvantage is ALWAYS being able to get a hold of – and I think the texting leaves out some communication skills for some kids and spelling skills!

Another advantage is somewhat related is the computer.  To be able to send e-mail off instantly, to do work and save it on a computer, and to share pictures and Skype across the world is quite an advantage.  Again though, we lose the personalization  of hand-written letters.  Some things are “too instant” as pushing that send button when upset or angry, instead of handwriting a note or picking up the phone to have a conversation.

One thing that I personally like is the different versions of Scripture so easily available on-line to do searches on and compare versions with just a click of a button.  Growing up I had a King James Version and in my senior year of high school was given a NIV for a gift and thought how neat that was.  Now, I can look at numerous different versions so easily on-line.

One the of big disadvantages our kids face is the economical changes.  I think it will be much harder for them to have more stable jobs and have set careers.  At this time, they can probably purchase a home for the same cost my husband and I did 36 years ago.  And another disadvantage is certainly the morale of our country.  Growing up “divorce” was such a “hush hush” word – now it’s a common every day quick resolution.  I never heard of homosexuality or abortion.  Now . . . well . . . that’s a whole other post . . . !

But no matter what from 100 years ago or today, one thing has not change.  God is still in charge.  He’s still on the throne!

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

