Posted in Faith, Family

Worst Fears . . . diminishing . . .

Vent about something you’re worried about

A

few weeks ago I wrote about something I do fear . . . that I thought was coming true, when a police officer knocked on our door just a little after 9 pm.   I expected the worst and my first words to him were “Please don’t tell me something happened to one of my kids.”  Everything was fine.  There had been a nearby break-in and he was investigating if we had seen anything unusual.

But, it’s something I do worry about, especially when the kids are late getting home, or I hear of an accident on the news that’s in an area our kids could be driving.  My oldest son is working on a motorcycle he hopes to get out on the road soon.  If I could go clip the wires he’s working on to stall him, I would!

My fears are not as bad as they were even a few years ago.  I’d see an ambulance in town heading towards where my one son worked, I’d have my husband drive me to make sure it was not him.  My mind would daydream the worst, thinking of an officer coming up the driveway to give the dreaded news . . . . planning yet another funeral.  Yeah . . . it’s easy to get overtaken by fear.

Don’t be anxious about anything;
rather bring up all of your requests to God
in your prayers and petitions,
along with giving thanks.
Philippians 4:6

Yes . . . that’s one of those poke at me verses.  And I am still working on it.  I am learning to be thankful when the kids walk in the door rather than envision the worst.  I also am remembering I cannot do a thing about the number of days God has planned for my kids.  He knows.  I can’t change that.  Oh, I will still protect especially my young ones the best I can, but I cannot bubble wrap them either!

And then when I get in the mind of all the “what if’s” another verse that pokes at me is:

casting down imaginations,
and every high thing that is exalted against the knowledge of God,
and bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ;
2 Corinthians 10:5 

I sure can imagine the worst, yet it is against what God has planned.  Letting God taking my thoughts into captivity is another work in progress.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

