Posted in Family

Book Review: You’re Already Amazing by Holly Gerth

  If you haven’t figured it out yet:
you’re amazing because you’re God’s creation and he lives in you.
You’re valuable because you belong to him.
You’re worth investing in because he paid the ultimate price for you.
By Holly Gerth
You’re Already Amazin9 (Page 173)

O

ne of my top five favorite blogs to read is by author, Holly Gerth. So I was quite excited when I was given the privileged to read and review her newest released book, You’re Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be.  I was not disappointed!  And God’s timings are perfect too, because it’s gone right along with the Sunday School class that I am in . . . when we believe the lies that Satan feeds us, especially the big one, “You are not enough“.  Holly covers some of these:

  • I Have to be Perfect
  • I Need to be More Like Her
  • I Don’t Have Anything to Offer
  • Being Confident Will Make Me Prideful and Selfish
  • I Am Who Others Say I Am

I think the part that struck me the most is what she said about our brokenness.  We often want to change it – make it better – demand a difference from God.  I love this:

“You think you have to take what’s broken
and make it perfect in order to be used by me.
But I think in a completely different way.
I took what was perfect, my Son,
and made him broken so that you could be whole.
And because you belong to him,
your brokenness can bring healing to others too.”
(page 20)

I appreciated it that Holly clarified that this is not just a book for good self-image for selfish reasons or self-glorification:

 “This isn’t a book about self-improvement.
It’s about aligning our lives with love in the way God created us to do.
To do that, we need a lot of grace and
an approach that makes sense based on who God made us
.”
(page 150)

This book is ideal for “most” women ~ any of us who struggle with who we are, what our purpose in life is, negative thoughts about ourselves, those that don’t seem like they don’t fit in, those that have been abused, hurt, rejected, etc.  It is a great book to read alone, but I think it would also be wonderful for a few women to go through together to help encourage one another and hold each other accountable.  In the back there is a “Go Deeper Guide” which goes through each chapter with questions and more thoughts to consider.

Bloom (in)courage is beginning a study of You’re Already Amazin9 on Monday, March 26th.  I am hoping to participate as I read through this book again!  I highly recommend this book!

A copy of You’re Already Amazin9 was provided to me
in exchange for my honest thoughts and review.  
It is now available at your favorite bookseller from Revell,
a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

