Posted in Family

Life . . . and Death

Y

esterday, I share some of my “madness” against abortion. I probably should have shared how it hits me very personally.  You see, I was given up for adoption.   After being a mother and birthing babies, I do not know how a mom does it . . . how she hands over a baby without touching him/her and turns away.  But my birth mom did.  She had to, to save her marriage, which was saved and endured.  I met my birth parents in the fall of 1987 and though we have not stayed in close touch, I am forever grateful to them, and thankful for them choosing life, instead of hiding a pregnancy and ending it.

This morning my birth father passed away unexpectedly.  My birth father wept when I met him nearly 25 years ago.  He knew I was his daughter.  But it was okay.  I know that God allowed me to be placed in another home to have a different outcome in my life.  I was able to thank them both for giving me life. My heart aches for not knowing him better, but thankful too for having met him, hugged him and to let them know I did not hold anything against them.

Fall 1987 ~ My birthmom holding our oldest son.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “Life . . . and Death

  1. The gift of forgiveness and the power of unconditional love (Agape) are responsible for you being the person you are today. Wonderful witness to the power of God. Thank you for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

