Posted in Family

In ‘Other’ Words: Taste and See that the Lord is Good!

“I want people to fill their minds with passages of Scripture
while they are well and strong,
that they may have sure help in the day of need.
I want them to be diligent in studying their Bibles,
and becoming familiar with their contents,
in order that the grand old Book may stand by them
and talk with them when all earthly friends fail.
From the bottom of my heart,
I pity that person who never reads their Bible.
I wonder how they expect to draw their consolation in their time of need.

~ J.C. Ryle

S


unday our pastor’s sermon was on what true worship is.   It is not just going to church on Sunday.  Worship should be a daily lifestyle of our recognition of  God’s worthiness.  Our worship throughout the week is like keeping a fire going.  If the fire is dead on Sunday it’s not going to do much for us to just “worship” on Sunday and do nothing throughout the week.  And part of our worship is reading God’s word.  As the pastor related, some only open their Bible’s on Sunday.  How can we truly know Him if this is the only time? 

David wrote in Psalm 34:8:

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
     Blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!

When a song comes on the radio from my high school days, I still remember the words and can often sing along .  Some of the words I wish I did not remember!  I think of all we put to memory . . . from songs, to commercials, to sayings, but is it all things that really make us taste and see how good God is? Just as we feed our bodies throughout the day, we need to worship God to continually feed our souls, hearts and minds.  We have so many ways of hearing and reading God’s word now through podcasts, the radio, music CD’s, e-mailed portions of Scripture daily to read through the Bible in a year, devotionals in books and on our smartphones and of course, picking up His word to read.   When I first read the quote above, it made me of a very elderly man, so concerned about his loved ones.  It made me think of my grandpa desiring my sister and I to know God and to know His word.  He read his Bible everyday, along with “Our Daily Bread” devotional.  When he had a stroke, he was found with his Bible and devotional on his lap.  But I can imagine my grandpa telling me this, to know God’s word, to study it, to memorize, so if I get to the stage he did where he had a stroke and he could not read, or use one side of his body, he still had God’s word going through his mind.  Though he may not have been able to speak clearly to us, my grandpa could still hear God.  He had God’s word hidden in his heart.

Psalm 110:103

How sweet are your words to my taste,
    sweeter than honey to my mouth!

Today, Twinkle Mom is hosting this week’s, In ‘Other’ Words on her blog,
SunflowerFaith.
Join in with us, sharing on the above quote,
or just leave a comment! 

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “In ‘Other’ Words: Taste and See that the Lord is Good!

  1. LOVE the title! It fits so well and just captures what the Bible is about…As you shared, ” We have so many ways of hearing and reading God’s word now through podcasts, the radio, music CD’s, e-mailed portions of Scripture daily to read through the Bible in a year, devotionals in books and on our smartphones and of course, picking up His word to read.” and yet we fill them with everything but and maybe we remember a random word or part of scripture but if we were to be called to explain for the hope and reason we can…could we or do we just point to our churches and shrug our shoulders and go,”I don’t know…ask the pastor”.

    Part of who we are as Christians is knowing why and what we believe and the reason for the hope and faith we have and we get it from “tasting and seeing ” our Father and getting to know Him and really knowing Him.

    J.C. Ryle and your grandfather were wise men…May our hearts be challenged and encouraged to follow in their steps.

  2. My children sing worship music at the drop of a hat and quote scripture too. Loni, it’s one of the most beautiful things to hear. I didn’t grow up doing that, but was determined that my children would know what His words taste like and feel like when they burst to the top in any given situation. There’s comfort and protection in that burst.

    Thank you for your words.

    And yes, I know my quote is due. I’ve been waffling between two…I’ll have it to you by Friday. Thank you for your patience.

Leave a Reply

