Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Ache

ACHE

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” (2 Corinthians 1:3-7).  

start . . . 

I wonder what God is trying to teach me about ache . . . because it always seems to linger a bit. As I thought of this word, I was reminded of something that really struck me that I read earlier today from a post called, Climbing in the Casket:

Spiritual friends understand the essential principle for sustaining faith in the goodness of God: we have to climb in the casket with our spiritual friends. Life is a series of multiple deaths, daily crucifixions. We need the courageous compassion to climb in the casket with our friends in the throes of death, in the valley of the shadow of death.

Just a few weeks ago a young couple in our church had to say hello and goodbye to a premature baby.  The ache in my heart came back knowing what they will go through, for quite some time.  Our church is quite large, and I had not met them before their son died.  But now, I think of them often and can cry with the mom and share the “normalcy” through this journey of grief and ache.  Of course,  I wish I did not know the pain of the death of a baby, but God is using the ache to help ease both of ours.

 We all have our aches of life, from the loss of jobs, loved ones, losing a house by fire or foreclosure to the ache of a prodigal child,  a child gone serving our country in the service or an ended marriage.  We seem to connect with others when they can relate to our ache . . . or as the author above says, by climbing in the casket with them.  

Is there an ache that needs to be shared? I wonder, is there a casket I need to climb in with someone?  You?  

finish . . .

Joining Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Friday.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ache

  1. That is one great thing about this Christian walk of ours. We are told to bear on anothers burden. A burden shared, is a burden lightened. We can also “stand in the gap” through prayer for those we know and don’t know.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. What a blessing He give us — to be able to share in someone’s ache. Beautiful….love your ending. the imagery of climbing in a casket…
    So blessed by your words–thank you!

  3. i love the quote and the word picture of climbing into the casket with someone…that is what Christian love does…thanks for this…blessings~

  4. Lori, I’m so glad that you linked up before me. Reading your “As God writes my Story” along with this post “Ache” was a double blessing for me today. Thank you also for pointing us to the “Climbing in the Casket” post. Sometimes we just need to breathe, walk and pray that pain with others. I find I am better at giving than receiving, but my own recent times of trial are teaching me community, love and support works both ways in relationship and fellowship. Thank you for your words today.

  5. I enjoyed your post. I wish I had posted mine closer to yours because I enjoy hearing from you. Anyway, you have been given an opportunity to help this family and you can grow together. 🙂
    I will pray that you are strengthened by them.

Leave a Reply

