Posted in PLINKY

Dreaming of Building . . .

If you were going to redecorate your home,
what would you change?

W

here should I start? This spring we will be living in our house for 20 years.  It means it’s the longest I’ve lived any place, including my childhood home.  Of our eleven children, six of them have been totally raised in this home, and only our oldest son really remembers living elsewhere.  Our oldest two have moved out, and our twin daughters will move out this year, after they are married.  The younger kids are already asking about rearranging and redecorating bedrooms, which they definitely need.

However, the biggest dream my husband and I have is to add on a large family room.  With our family growing now by marriage and then grandchildren, we’d love to have a large area to have family time.  My husband’s folks have a wonderful one, and we dream of doing that someday.  But it would help to enlarge our dining area and having more family area.  My husband said he’d like to decorate somewhat cabin style.  We shall see.  I still want it bright and warm.

But, no matter what, I am content.  I am thankful for our country home, the room our children have to run, and the memories we’ve made.  It’s funny . . . my husband talks about cutting down a tree, and the kids, even the older ones, plead to him not to.  There’s always some memory of things they played on or around it!

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “Dreaming of Building . . .

  1. We just moved from the home we lived in for twenty one years (the longest either of us had ever lived one place.)

    It was a special place for that time, but we are loving our new home, too. Blessings to you and your growing family.

  2. I simply can’t imagine how large your dining room would need to be, Loni. When we’ve had my husband’s family over, we pull tabled together, including outdoor picnic tables and cloth them. They run through the large doorways and zig zag through. And that only seated 18!

Leave a Reply

