Posted in Family, PLINKY

The Five Foods I’d Hate to Live Without

  Name five foods you’d hate to live without.

W

ell, those that know me, can probably guess what #1 is!  CHOCOLATE!  It really should be  the 6th food group, but then again, isn’t it considered a vegetable since they start out as pods on a tree?  I love just about anything chocolate – gooey hot brownies, (the batter before it goes into the oven is almost better!), chocolate candy, fudge, etc.  Yes, it’s a weakness.

Nutella is another food that is at the top of my list.  I guess it’s quite close to chocolate, but maybe more healthy since it’s made from roasted hazelnuts, skim milk and cocoa and a “bit” of sugar.  I don’t have any in my house at this time.  It’s too much of a temptation for me and this does not help much when I am trying to lose weight!

I would have a hard time living without breads and eggs.  I love homemade bread.  I’ve my own wheat grinder, and will make fresh yeast bread with honey (no sugar). It smells sooooo  good!  I always have to plan that at least one loaf will get eaten right away when it comes out of the oven.  And I really like eggs, from egg salad sandwiches to sunny side up over easy eggs, scrambled eggs, omlets, soft boiled, heavenly eggs (don’t like calling them deviled), poached eggs and French toast with really soaked in eggs!  Yes, it would be hard living without eggs.  Maybe it’s why we have a dozen chickens free ranging in our yard!

As far as my favorite meat, it is lamb. I love broiling a small lamb shoulder steak. I season it with salt, pepper, garlic and ground mustard – sometimes with a little bit of teriyaki marinade.

So, I think I could live on the above.  Probably my most favorite ethnic food is Mexican . . . I so love chicken enchalladas with fresh guacamola  and fresh homemade salsa.  I also enjoy Greek food, especially gyros and Baklava.  My birth father is Greek.  And from my childhood I love Swiss Steak and Schaum Torte (that link is my most visited post on my blog – check it out if you do not know what Schaum Torte is!)

Ohh, my list could go on, because I do like food and I do like cooking and baking!  I know . . .  this was suppose to be just five foods!  :)

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “The Five Foods I’d Hate to Live Without

Leave a Reply

