Posted in Family, Meme

Five Minute Friday: Real

REAL

Yes, yesterday I wrote on “Real Life”.  Kinda funny that two different bloggers had words so close.  So here’s a different angle at “Real”.   

start . . . 

R

eal  friends are few and for some a rarity.   I only have maybe three real friends I can tell just about anything too . . .  my worst days, the words that spewed from my mouth, my heart hurts and the questions I have for God.  Some real friends have come and gone through different seasons in my life, where we were real close at one time, and then our lives take different ways and we change.  It hurts when it’s not quite the same and at times I wish for the “old” days but then realize too, how God has put new friends into my life for this season.

One of my dear friends lives in another state and we see each other maybe only one or two times a year.  We don’t talk often, but when we do we can always pick up where we’ve left off.  We are real with each other – no hiding how things are so good.  We can be honest with each other.  She’s encouraged me with Scripture and reading certain books.  I hope I’ve done the same for her in being a real friend.  I’ve another friend who also moved away, but not quite as far.  She’s one I’ve called when going through panic attacks and she helped me get through, specifically, not walking out of a doctor’s office, when I was looking for any excuse!

I appreciate my real friends who can tell me where I am wrong, or encourage me to go a different direction or where I may not be seeking God rather than others.  It’s easy to seek my friends rather than my Real Friend in Jesus. and I do know from personal experience friends will disappoint us and hurt us.  Jesus won’t.  He IS a real friend that will stick closer than a brother.

Joining Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Friday.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Real

  1. Fantastic post. I feel like those words could have come out of my mouth too. I have just a few REAL friends. But I think maybe that is the way it supposed to be? That way we treasure those friends in a different, special way.

  2. It is easy to look to friends, or spouses instead of our savior when we need help. Or to long for a friendship to return to the way it used to be. I have had these struggles. And it is hard to teach these truths to our kids who want their BFF to remain that way forever without ever hitting a bump. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Yes, how good it is to have friends you can be real with, and they with you. And blessing above all is that “Friend that sticks closer than a brother” that we can be utterly transparent with — because He knows us inside out already, even better than we know ourselves — and He still loves us unfailingly! Thanks for this.

  4. Real friends are a treasure, especially when you feel like you’re drowning in a sea of casual acquaintances; it’s a blessing to have true friends and an unwavering faith to help you through challenges. This was lovely!

Leave a Reply

