Posted in Books, REVIEW

Book Review: A Confident Heart by Renee Swope

“I can’t do this.”
“Things will never change.”
“My life isn’t going to get better.”
“I’ll never had the confidence I need.”
p. 22
A Confident Heart:
How to Stop Doubting Yourself and
Live in the Security of God’’s Promises

I

wonder how many women, along with me, have thought at least one of the lines above.  The author, Renee Swope writes about these thoughts as :

“. . . the voices of insecurity that cast shadows of doubt over our perspective and keep us from becoming the women we want to be.

If you are one that deals with self-doubt, insecurities, depression, working through the past, and wondering how God can use past mistakes and pains, this book is deep, full of Scripture and great understanding from the author.  She shares how often we are looking for unconditional love, and may seem as though we can never find it.  It’s  God who puts our seeking the unconditional or unfailing love in our hearts because He knows it will lead us to Him.  

Renee Swope is very personal throughout A Confident Heart, with stories from her life and others and how God has used them, and given her confidence and strength from Jesus.  I love how she talked of the Samaritan woman at the well, and personalized it to calling her “Sam” and how we can relate to that woman and our relationship with Jesus.

I think this below gives a great picture of her heart, how far she has come and the purpose of writing this book:

It took me the longest time to understand and believe God could use my mistakes and hurts for His greatest purposes if I would allow Him to change me through them.  I wanted God to burn the pages of my old story and write what I thought would be a better story for Him to tell.  Instead He wanted to finish what He started, completing the work He had begun in me with a narrative that would bind up my broken heart and set this captive free.  What story is God wanting to write in your life?  Will you let Him?

Each chapter is followed by “Praying God’s Promises“,  numerous verse put together personalized as if we are praying it.  After the prayer is “Reflection and Discussion Questions” that would be great to use personally or for a couple close women or small group to work through together.  It’s deep.  It hits the nitty gritty of our lives.  I’ve about 20 sticky tabs throughout this book that I want to go back through.

Please visit Renee Swoope’s blog.  There you will find a place where you can sign up for a week of e-mail devotionals called the “7 Day Doubt Diet“.  You can also read the first chapter HERE, or watch the book trailer here and/or visit the Confident Heart Facebook page .  In her book she talks of a “Melissa”.  This Melissa is doing an on-line Bible study using  A Confident Heart that will be starting on September 18th.

A Confident Heart is excellent.  I highly recommend it!

I was given a complimentary copy of
A Confident Heart
from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
in exchange for posting my honest review and opinion.
Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Confident Heart by Renee Swope

  1. A Confident Heart is a book I really need to read! Sometimes I have so much trouble with self doubts, and I seem to be going through them now. Renee reminded me of so many things, things I’ve heard before but I needed to hear again.
    Doubt robs us of things in our physical and spiritual life. I think of several things I’ve wanted to venture out and do, but I didn’t because I didn’t think I could, or didn’t thing I was worthy. One of the worse doubts for me is that some things in my life will never change, and because of those things, my life is never going to get better.

    1. It is an AMAZING book and really encouraged me a lot. I also am reviewing a book within a few days that is by Holly Gerth called, “You’re Already Amazing”. It’s really just as good and I think would also be encouraging to you! I think you’d find her blog encouraging too. Come back to visit and let me know when you have read it!

Leave a Reply

