Posted in Family

Imperfect Prose: RED ~ In Memory of Matthew ~ Forever 16

‎”If you know someone who has lost a child,
and you’re afraid to mention them
because you think you might make them sad
by reminding them that they died–
you’re not reminding them.

They didn’t forget they died.
What you’re reminding them of is that
you remembered that they lived,
and that is a great gift.”

~Elizabeth Edwards~

 

 

H

 

is favorite color was red.

I see it everywhere today
~ six years ago today,
on a Saturday,
our son Matthew left without a good-bye.

Red cranberries and candles
Red Jello and Hawaiian Punch
The red and white candy cane he gave his sister in the hospital
His favorite candy – Skittles, especially the red ones

A lap quilt being made from his red Carhartt coat
The red bracelet I wore in memory of him, made by one of his brothers
His red moped, still parked in the barn
Red cardinals ~ there’s a stone one by his grave

Christmas gifts he did not receive that year . . .
A new red Bible with his name engraved on the cover, buried with him
Along with the new red soft cotton shirt he wore
The red roses that we let go as we released his shell to the ground
Red balloons floating to the heavens on his first birthday with Jesus

The Christmas tree in the corner ~ his last gift to me,
Wrapped in red ribbons and red glittering balls ~ gentle reminders
Fading red poinsettias, but not our memories of him

My beating red heart ~ healing

 

Gifts wrapped in red,
a reminder of the gift of red blood Jesus shed
so we may live forever in heaven
and be reunited with our loved ones.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Always missing,
always loving,
always thankful for the 16 years we were blessed with the gift of Matthew‘s life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sharing with Emily at Imperfect Prose.  It was an imperfect day 6 years ago, that God is making good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

8 thoughts on “Imperfect Prose: RED ~ In Memory of Matthew ~ Forever 16

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart Loni. A window into the deepest part of your broken places. I’m praying for you especially today as your family remembers the life of son and brother.
    Love you,
    Jodi

  2. A dear Mother & Friend – I am lifting you as high as my arms will reach. Your words touch a deep scarred place inside me also. Tomorrow, eight years ago, my oldest son, Adam, died. His favorite color was blue.
    May God continue to heal you.
    In complete love,
    Cin

  3. my dear, dear loni…

    i am crying hard. such a tender post, such a picture you paint in red of your son, your dear son. now dancing with Jesus. how thankful i am to have met you. how thankful i am to learn of matthew. i join you in celebrate his 16 years today, loni. thank you so much for linking. may you know peace this christmas, friend. (see you at imperfect in the new year!) e.

  4. I must admit I have put off reading this post because I knew I would cry buckets of tears.

    I did.

    Your memories are beautiful! I didn’t know Matthew well, but you have given me the gift of getting to know him.

    Hugs and love to you my friend.

Leave a Reply

