Posted in Family

Guest Blog Post: Skipping a Beat

B

elow is a guest post written by Smith Dancy.  I want to share this because my husband has had to get his hearing tested.  He worked in a machine shops for for many years, so this will always be a concern.

My favorite class in high school was band, so I decided that I wanted to become a band teacher myself once I got to college. Majoring in music to do it was pretty tough but somehow I managed to graduate and have been working for over 25 years as a band teacher.

I’ve taught at big schools before, but right now I’m teaching at the high school I went to, which is pretty small. That also means that there are fewer students that do band and therefore less of a talent pool. It’s also a little tougher, naturally, to get all the students in sync and perform well. But my students do their best.

I started noticing in the spring that I was having trouble hearing some of the sections and asked them to play a little louder. That didn’t work so much and when I told my wife she suggested I take advantage of Free hearing tests Florida. I visited miracle ear Jacksonville, FL and got fitted with some hearing aids.

We’ve started practicing for football season and I’m really looking forward to it this year. The team is supposed to be better, so maybe we’ll have some more exciting rally moments to play through.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

