Daily Prompt: If You Leave

Posted: March 12, 2014 in Daily Prompt, Family
Tags: , , ,

Daily Prompt: If You Leave

I

posted a few days ago about my friend looking for her birth mom.  Since writing, she has been connected to several in her birth family and she is getting questions answered!  I know the feeling after finding my birthparents and siblings!  Of course, there are some expectations that may never be met.  As an adopted child, we have this dream-like vision of what our birthmom may be like.  For most adopted kids, that expectation is quickly lost.  Through the years as a child, where always the questions of,  . . . why would my birthmom not want me, why would she leave me; what was wrong with me . .. or her/them.  Maybe it’s why Jesus’ relates it numerous times in Scripture how He will not leave us.

I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.
John 14:18

Even if my mother and father leave me,
    the Lord will take me in.
Psalm 27:10

mirrorThere’s something else I’ve been thinking of as my friend has been looking for her birth family. I think back to how I wondered who I looked like, wanting to “know” my birthmom.  Not just what was written on a piece of paper what she looked like and what nationalities she is, but what she is really like.  Isn’t that somewhat what we search for in God? The more we know Him, the more we want to know Him and the more we realize we do not know Him.  I think of how I’d look in a mirror and wonder where I got my big brown eyes from. And God says we are made in His image. As we grow, we are to become more and more like Him, reflecting Him.  

So indeed, the Man who made us in His image, paid a price for us to keep us by dying on the cross for us, of course, never will leave us.  He paid the ultimate price – He does not want to give us up. He keeps fighting for us and pursuing us.

There is no if’s with God.  We are His.  He won’t leave us.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. […] Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Writing Canvas […]

  2. […] Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Writing Canvas […]

  3. […] Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Writing Canvas […]

  4. gapark says:

    Once we have that knowledge that God is our Heavenly Father and we are His children, it provides immense comfort! http://tracyline.com/2014/03/12/the-best-way-to-go/

    • gapark says:

      Sorry, Loni, I didn’t mean to copy that link to Tracy’s blogpost–was supposed to be my signature. That’s what i get for not proofreading my comments first. But it is a thought-provoking post if you want to follow it…on final decisions re: leaving this life to return to our Heavenly Father, so I guess it is related in some way…:)
      Gail at Making Life An Art

  5. anonbirthmom says:

    I love this! I’m fortunate where, my adoption is open so my daughter will never have those questions. I think that it is great for kids to know their birth family. The most valuable thing I can say, honestly, is that no matter where this person’s birth mom is, I promise she made her choice out of love!! If you find her, I can guarantee that it will be amazing for both of them. I will try to help as much as I can. I’m so excited! This is something that I love trying to help with, finding birth families! Good luck! I’m looking out for you :)

    Adoption is a beautiful thing. I hope, together, we can bring them together as they should be :)

Leave a Reply

