Daily Prompt: Writing Room

Posted: February 4, 2013 in Daily Prompt, Family
Tags: , , , ,

But when you pray, go to your room, shut the door, and pray to your Father who is present in that secret place. Your Father who sees what you do in secret will reward you.  Matthew 6:6

I

have day dreamed about my own prayer/writing/reading nook - my own little escape place, besides the bathroom (but even then, there’s usually someone knocking on the door!)  With my own little reading or writing nook,  I can just imagine my kids telling someone who calls, “mom is in her closet reading“.   But it would be MINE – off limits (well, kinda)!  

I’ve got the perfect closet to do it in.  And just writing on this has me dreaming even more about it!  :)  I’d keep my special books in it, my journals, special pictures on the walls.  It would be quite cozy . . .   with a quilt I made and extra pillows.  I’d like it like the first picture below, but not such a small cushioned area.  Though it would be mine – what mom does not have to share her things?  I could picture my kids sneaking into during hide-n-seek or one asking if they could do their schoolwork in it.  

And once we made one . . . the kids would want one.  They have had a camp under the stairs for over 20 years that each of them have played in.  It would be fun to make a little area like shown below under the stairs.  Then I can just hear it . . .  “Wow mom, you never made this for us…but the grandkids get all the best stuff.”    

I may have to draw up some plans and watch for some deals! :)

Daily Prompt: Writing Room

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Piper says:

    “my own little escape place, besides the bathroom” just cracked me up! I understand completely!!
    Wouldn’t be nice for at least 5 minutes???

  2. diggingher says:

    Ahhh, I really struggled with the loss of my own private space when my husband and I married nearly 8 years ago. I made it a priority to carve out that special place, now called my sanctuary. I don’t know how I would have survived the early years without it!

  3. […] Daily Prompt: Writing Room (writingcanvas.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Bonnie says:

    When my boys left home I inherited the entire upstairs…an open attic area with big window on each end. I made one side into a guest room and other is my sewing and whatever area. I’m still working on it but it’s quiet.

  5. determined34 says:

    Love the first picture. :) D 34

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Writing Room (writingcanvas.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

