And He Shall Be Called. . .Jehovah-Shalom – My God Gives Peace {Day 2}

Posted: December 2, 2012 in And He Shall Be Called
Tags: , , , , ,

P

eace . . . names of God2Isn’t it what us moms often yearn for? I can remember my mom saying, if my sister and I were squabbling, “I want some peace and quiet“.  I certainly did not understand then- nor did I understand then why they enjoyed Sunday afternoon naps!

And though I no longer have kids that take naps, I enjoy my Sunday afternoon of sneaking off to my bedroom, and having the refreshment of a nap.  I enjoy the peace and quiet of my house late at night and peering in the kid’s rooms and hearing their soft breathing.  Oh, I certainly love hearing their laughter during the day!  But isn’t there just something about, peace?

When life is hard, we can often pray for ourselves or others, for the peace that passes all understanding.  We can’t comprehend it, but even in the midst of death and uncertainty, we can have peace that settles us.  Jesus is the Prince of Peace – Jehovah-Shalom – He gives peace.  

 For a child will be born to us,
a Son will be given to us;
and the government will rest on His shoulders;
and His name will be called
Wonderful Counselor,
Mighty God,
Eternal Father, 

Isaiah 9:6

 “ For He Himself  is our
peace . . . 

Ephesians 2:14

 greensig

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

